My Commitment to Easy Reading

Easy reading is damn hard writing.  ~Nathaniel Hawthorne

Mr. Hawthorne says it so…eloquently…

OK. I have to admit I love quotes. They inspire me AND suck up my valuable time while searching for just the right one. Ironic, huh?

When I came across this classic by Nathaniel Hawthorne, I was reminded of the time and energy we need to put into our writing. Right now, my writing commitment is just not enough to make my manuscripts easy reading. I know that I have been to that place, but I am definitely not there right now.

Until I became serious about writing, I never realized how many edits a person can make on a simple picture book manuscript or the number of books or websites one can look through for just the right word in a sentence. As a new writer, amateur or a professional we all need to find that place of commitment to make our work easy reading. Writing is hard work and to make GREAT writing we have to plan, write, and edit, edit, edit.

This is where I double my efforts to find time to sit down and write. Write without interruption and without hesitation.  To write with intention and audacity and with the commitment to make all of my work easy reading.

Leave a Reply

